Those Creepy Crawly Spiders

May 26, 2010 at 7:58 pm 1 comment

I can handle snakes, cockroaches, centipedes—whatever, without being affected at all, but spiders?  I am, or at least I was, terrified no matter what the size. Some people would say that we become afraid of spiders because it seems ‘popular’ to be… but that’s ridiculous, as the fear is something that we cannot control. So why is it that arachnophobia is the most common phobia? I am sure that it has something to do with the household spiders we see daily crawl out of creepy, dark places.

I was pleasantly surprised during my first week interning at the Butterfly Pavilion. Like most of the little kids that pour through the doors of the Butterfly Pavilion I held Rosie. Rosie, a tarantula. Having a hairy spider tickle the palm of my hand as it was walking across was in itself exciting. It has even made me have second thoughts about my fear of spiders.

So I urge you all to think about your fear and see if you want to overcome it with a chance to hold Rosie in the Crawl-A-See-Em. If I can do it, anyone can.

Posted by Megan Sullivan

Social Media Intern

Entry filed under: General. Tags: , , , , .

Getting to the Root of the Environment Bloomapalooza 2010

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Leo Sullivan  |  May 26, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Has there been any Spider-man sightings at the Pavilion. Thats someone I really want to see. Keep up the good work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

Twitter Updates


